Mia’s Cocoon

I found Cocoon at Designsponge city guides , one of the bloggers suggested this little b&b as a cheap and chic stay and I didn’t regret for a single moment. Located just a few steps from Porta Genova metro station over a green bridge in via Voghera, still downtown, but hidden a bit, Cocoon is the cutest cosy place with a garden, that gives you a chance to see a completely new Milan all of a sudden. For all the three days I stayed there I had a feeling I was not just a tourist, but a Milanese girl, heading to work in the morning and getting back to walk around and have a lovely dinner in one of the endless restaurants and cafes in the neighbourhood. Btw Mia, the owner, provides an essential guide of all the design must visits and must eats out, based on her own experience. She turned out to be an architect, living and working in the same building, where the b&b is situated, the ex factory that she totally remade and redecorated herself to make it the most stylish and welcoming place to stay. From the very first greeting e-mail I received from her, I was sure I would like it there. The only available room for the period of my stay was the Grey One.

The moment I stepped in I was charmed by the interplay of the shades of whites and grays, spaciousness and airiness, wooden floors, vintage accessories, beautiful linen, zara dark amber home fragrance, faded lights – just a perfect home waiting for me away from home. I was given my own key with a white tin heart keyring and the code to the wooden entrance gate to give me freedom to come and go anytime I like. In the morning, lead by the tasty smell of fresh toasts and coffee, I found my way to a sweet red breakfast room facing the garden with its french doors.

It was filled with light and travel guides from all over the world, a good place for a cup of espresso and a lively chat with my neighbours from the other two rooms and Mia, dropping by to say hello on the way to her office upstairs.

I must say for over four years of my business trips to Milan that was my best stay, I did not want to live for the first time)

visited in March 2012
Photos by Nsenses
This entry was posted in decoration, design, lovely places, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment